Page content

Nominating Committee

The twelfth General Assembly during the 19th International Congress of Nutrition in Bangkok, Thailand elected Dr. Ricardo Uauy, Immediate Past President, Chairman of the Nominating Committee.  Eight Adhering Bodies will be elected at the first IUNS Council meeting, each to designate a member of the Nominating Committee.


Representatives to External Groups

World Health Organization (WHO)

Headquarters: Geneva – Ibrahim Elmadfa

African Regional Office – Anna Lartey

European Regional Office – Ibrahim Elmadfa

Eastern Mediterranean Regional Office – Ibrahim Elmadfa

Americas Regional Office and Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) – Suzanne Murphy

South-East Asian Regional Office – Xiaoguang Yang

Western Pacific Regional Office – Emorn Wasantwisut


Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

Headquarters: Pamplona, Spain – J. Alfredo Martinez


United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF)

Headquarters: California, USA – Lindsay Allen

NGO Committee – Lindsay Allen


International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU)

ICSU General Assembly and General Committee – Ibrahim Elmadfa

Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) – Ibrahim Elmadfa

Committee on Science and Technology in Developing Countries (COSTED) – Rekia Belahsen

Committee on the Teaching of Science (CTS)

International Council for Laboratory Animal Science (ICLAS)

Inter-Union Commission on the Application of Science to Agriculture, Forestry, and Aquaculture (CASAFA) – Malgorzata Schlegel-Zawadska

International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC)

Electronic Publishing (ICSU Press)

United Nations University (UNU)

International Union of Food Science and Technology (IUFoST) – V. Prakash

Administrative Committee on Coordination/Subcommittee on Nutrition – Ibrahim Elmadfa

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Council for International Organizations of Medical Sciences